On the road to overcoming  my struggles 

On the road to overcoming  my struggles 

I made a decision that I don’t  want to feel the way I have been lately and needed to do something to break out of this low mood and lack of motivation with life. 

I thought about what things I can start doing now to help me change my state of mind. To reenergise me and start making me feel positive and alive. Doing things that will help me feel like I’m a doing something meaningful. I decided to go back to some old things that I enjoyed doing with my family such as doing outdoor activities. So every weekend my husband and I are going to do just that. Last Saturday we packed a picnic and took ourselves and our puppy to the beach. 


We spent the whole day playing with our puppy, relaxing, soaking in some sun and I felt really great at the end of the day. But the next morning I had the same lack of motivation. So I have to keep this up and hopefully how I feel will improve in time. 

I also decided to try some new things and with the help of some friends and family have the current list of things I’m going to start doing. 

1. Learn a language 

2. Learn to dance 

3. Learn to play guitar 

4. Write a book about my cat

5. Learn a martial art 

6. Join a social club 

7. Be comfortable in my own skin – I had already started this one from the beginning of the year, more on this later. 

8. Try surfing 

9. Visit new places in Australia 

10. Do a counselling course and volunteer at lifeline  

The plan is to add more to this list but this is what I have for now. Here is hoping for feeling better and learning some new skills. 

Leave a Reply

