Who doesn’t love a good Hot Dog 

Who doesn’t love a good Hot Dog 

There is something about having a gourmet sausage in soft bread with mustard and sauerkraut that makes me instantly feel happy and satisfied. Eating a hotdog reminds me of weekends as a child when my mum would make sausages and we would turn them into hotdogs with ketchup, mustard, and relish. When I eat a hotdog it takes me back to a happy place. 

Unfortunately, I haven’t had a hot dog in a long time because I can’t have gluten. I thought hotdogs were just another thing I just couldn’t have anymore. That was until this afternoon, while shopping at Woolworths I came across some gluten, soy, dairy free rolls. I decided then and there I was having a hot dog for dinner tonight. (There was a party in my head at this point). 

 

   

 

These rolls although gluten free, is not true paleo as it has flours from grains and also something called invert sugar. I googled it, it is pretty much sugar, with the same health consequences. I don’t have any sugar in my diet, but for the small amount in this bread and my dying need to eat a hotdog I made a small exception (I am only human). 

Being pretty exhausted today (I just had an Infliximab infusion today), I used gluten free chorizo and cooked it in a pan to heat it up and brown a little. I served my hot dog simply with mustard. 

  
The verdict: the bread itself was a little dry and felt slightly grainy, but with the chorizo and mustard it worked well enough to satisfy my hotdog craving. It was a lot better then many other gluten free breads I have tried. 

My body didn’t have any reactions to it, so I feel like this is something I am able to include in my diet as an occasional treat. (Yay!) 

Leave a Reply

