Eating to avoid inflammation:  My Dairy and Sugar free Chocolate and Cherry Ice Cream 

Eating to avoid inflammation:  My Dairy and Sugar free Chocolate and Cherry Ice Cream 

  

Who says a strict diet can’t be fun 

I try to manage my condition using a holistic approach. Looking after all aspects of my life and what I need to do to avoid triggers to inflammation. I have found sticking to a paleo diet has really been beneficial to me. The main triggers for me are gluten, soy, and sugar, although I haven’t noticed a trigger with dairy I also avoid this, as it can cause an inflammatory reaction in the body. Along with legumes, nightshade plants, and some grains. 

I enjoy cooking and inventing new recipes that meets my dietary requirements, and is healthy and delicious.  I want to share these recipes in order to help others manage their autoimmune condition but not feel like they are missing out on things they enjoy.  

I recently bought a Cuisinart ice cream maker so I could make my own healthy ice cream at home and not miss out on something I have always loved. 

With this particular mixer you need to pre freeze your mixing bowl overnight. If you don’t have an ice cream maker you can use a bowl of ice with another bowl on top with the ice cream mix and a hand mixer to improvise. 

Ingredients 
1 can organic coconut milk 
3 tablespoons raw cocoa powder (use more if you want a stronger taste)

4 tablespoons raw organic honey 

I cup frozen pitted cherries/ or fresh if you have it (make sure you pit your fresh cherries)

Method 

1. Combine coconut milk and honey and whisk until smooth. 

2. Add the cocoa powder and give it a good mix until smooth.

3. Add the mix to ice cream mixer and turn on. 

4. Microwave the cherries for about 1 minute or until soft and defrosted, but not hot. If you are using fresh cherries or defrosted cherries you can skip this step. 

5. Crush half of the defrosted cherries with your hands and keep the other half whole to give your ice cream some texture and hidden treasures. 

5. After mixing for 20 minutes add in the cherries and let the ice cream maker churn for another 10 minutes. (This takes 30 minutes in my mixer, if you have a different ice cream maker the times may vary)

6. Once the consistency is soft and creamy, transfer to a container and refrigerate to harden up for a few hours or overnight. 

When you are ready to eat it, take out the container for 15 minutes so it slightly softens. 

This makes just under 1 litre of ice cream. 

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 

5 thoughts on “Eating to avoid inflammation:  My Dairy and Sugar free Chocolate and Cherry Ice Cream 

  1. This looks so tasty- I’m surprised it’s not dairy laden! If you’re interested, I’d love for you to share a post at the blogger link up I host on Tuesdays. All you need is a URL to share, and it’s a great way to network! I wrote a quick explanation on my main menu under ‘Tell em Tuesdays’ if you want some more information 🙂
    Kim
    http://peeledwellness.com

    Like

  2. Hi Jo. I have been eating to avoid inflammation for 4 years now. The results have been amazing. In the last few months i have created a podcast show that is about health called http://www.thetransitloungepodcast.com and i wonder if you would be interested to be interviewed. I live in Melbourne and interviews are done via Skype. You can get a taste at the link i provided. Smiles Bill.

    Like

Leave a Reply

